The Common Council, also referred to as the City Council, is the legislative body of Seymour city government. In a third class city there are seven elected councilmen, elected for four-year terms in odd-numbered years immediately preceding presidential election years. Seymour has five council districts. One councilperson is elected from each district, and two councilpersons are elected at Large. Council members receive a salary set by the Council the preceding year.

Seymour’s Council meets twice a month in the Council Chambers of City Hall, on the second and fourth Mondays at 7:00 p.m. The Mayor serves as the presiding officer, and may call special meetings. A president is elected from the members of council, and he serves as the presiding officer in the absence of the Mayor. All official meetings are open to the public. The city Clerk-Treasurer keeps the official minutes of the council meetings. The City Attorney, appointed by the Mayor, also attends the meetings. The council acts to pass ordinances and resolutions. An ordinance must pass two readings by council before it becomes a law. A resolution only requires one reading.

Meet Seymour’s City Council Members

John J ReinhartJohn J Reinhart – Council District 1

(JJ) is a lifelong resident of Seymour. He is a graduate of Seymour High School and served in the United States Army and is a Viet Nam veteran. John holds a degree in Criminal Justice from Indiana University. He retired from theSeymour Police Department. JJ is in his third term as a city councilman, enjoys golf and handyman projects around the house. He and his wife Patricia have two daughters and three grandchildren.


Jerry Hackney-Council District 2

Jerry moved to Seymour in 1986 and retired from Verizon in 1996. He is a 1963 graduate of Orleans High School and attended Vincennes University and IUPUC. Jerry and his wife Kathi owned and operated Hackney Communications Network until retirement in 2016. He has two daughters and one son.


Matt Nicholson District 3Matt Nicholson-Council District 3

Matt is a lifelong resident of Seymour. He graduated from SHS in 1996 and Ivy Tech Community College in 1998. Matt has experience in both the world of small business and non-profit. He has worked on both the Schurman-Grubb Memorial Skatepark and the Seymour Trails Committee. Matt married his high school sweetheart, and they now have three daughters. He enjoys spending time with his family, coaching softball, cycling, and fishing when time allows.


Jim RebberJames Rebber-Council District 4

Jim was born in Seymour and graduated from Seymour Senior High School in 1963. He graduated from Indiana State with a BS Industrial Arts in 1967 and received a degree MS Industrial Technology in 1969 and then received an Education Specialist (Ed. S) in 1977 from Ball State University in Public School Administration. Jim worked in the education field for 12 years. He and his family returned to Seymour in 1978. He has worked in Industrial Management since then. Jim has continuously served on the Seymour City Council since January 1, 1995.

Jim and his wife Ruth Ann have three children and six grandchildren. He enjoys being involved with his church activities at Zion Lutheran having held several lay positions since 1978. He also enjoys water sports activities including swimming, skiing, boating, and kayaking. Most of all, he enjoys teaching his grandchildren these same joys. He also likes restoring old cars, refinishing old furniture and collecting antique Lionel trains. Jim is President of the City Council and a member of the Board of Public Works & Safety.


Dave EarlyDave Earley – Council District 5

Dave is a lifelong resident of Seymour. He is a 1974 graduate of Seymour High School and a graduate of Northwood Institute.

Dave is currently serving his second term as a city councilman. He is also the first independent candidate to be elected as a City Councilman.

In his spare time he enjoys coaching youth sports and playing golf. Dave is a member of Central Christian Church. He and his wife Rhonda have two children Allison and Skylar and two grand children.


Lloyd HudsonLloyd Hudson – Council at Large

Lloyd Hudson was born and raised in Seymour. He is a graduate of Seymour High School. He has served in the U. S. Air Force and later received a bachelor degree in Business from Indiana University.

Lloyd was first elected to city council in 1996. He has worked for a number of years with church youth groups and served on his church board for 40+ years as well as a Sunday School teacher for as many years. He served on the United Way Board for 10 years, 4 of those years as budget chairman.

Lloyd coached in the Seymour youth baseball and softball leagues for 20 years. Lloyd and his wife Shirley have three children and nine grandchildren.


Darrin Boas-Council at Large

Darrin Boas was born and raised in Seymour and graduated from Seymour High School in 1987.  Upon completing his B.S. degree in Accounting from the Indiana University School of Business, he spent 12 years with Kroger in                                                                          store management between Indianapolis and New Castle, IN.

Darrin moved back to Seymour in 2003, and has been Branch Manager for AVI Foodsystems since 2007.

He and his wife Shawna have 2 children, son Brandon, and daughter Morgan.  They are active members of St. Ambrose Church.

Darrin enjoys camping, home remodeling projects, and auto restoration.



Seymour, Indiana Code of Ordinances can be found at