About Seymour

The City of Seymour is located one hour south of Indianapolis, one hour north of Louisville and one and one-half hours west of Cincinnati. Seymour, Jackson County, Indiana is the place to live your future! Seymour has a population of approximately 20,000 residents and is served by Mayor Matthew Nicholson, Clerk-Treasurer Darrin Boas and seven Councilmembers.

Seymour is a thriving industrial, commercial, and residential community based on well-planned growth and progress. The quality of life is demonstrated by Seymour’s “small town” yet bustling atmosphere, beautiful parks and open spaces, attractive landscaping and arterial streets, a low crime rate, quality schools and affordable housing. Because of the geographic location, a pro-business environment, and a proactive local government — Seymour is expected to continue to grow.

Mayor's Podcast






Monthly Newsletter









Chevy and Bob Poynter GM Support Seymour Youth Sports

Chevy and Bob Poynter GM want to support youth sports in the community and recently made donations to Seymour Parks and Recreation.

On Monday, J.B. Hackman, president and owner of Bob Poynter GM in Seymour, presented a $1,000 check to the parks and recreation department for youth baseball and softball.

A total of $500 will be used as a field sponsorship to fund maintenance and upkeep. The other $500 will go to purchase youth league equipment.

Attending the check presentation were Hackman, Parks Director Stacy Findley, Parks Operations and Maintenance Director Chad Keithley and Mayor Matt Nicholson.



Independence Day Celebration Events

Independence Day is just around the corner and Seymour Parks and Recreation department has a whole line up of activities to help you celebrate.

Start off July 4 with half-price admission at Shields Park Pool from noon to 5 p.m. Cost will be $2 for swimmers age 6 and older and $1 for age 3-5. Children under the age of 3 are free.

After cooling off in the pool, head over to Freeman Field Recreational Complex for the inaugural Smalltown Star Teen Talent Show from 3-5 p.m. Cash prizes will be awarded. The event is a Leadership Jackson County project and is being sponsored by Seymour Parks and Recreation and the Boys and Girls Club of Seymour.

Afterwards, the Fabulous Hickbillys, a local, classic and Top 40 country music group, will take the stage for a free concert, sponsored by Moore and Shepherd Insurance, from 7 p.m. until dark.

The concession stand will be open and selling snacks and drinks.

The night will end with the city’s annual free fireworks display which will begin at dark (around 10 p.m.). The show will be set to music by Radio 96.3. Alcohol and personal consumer fireworks are not allowed in the park.

Rainout day for the fireworks is Monday, July 5.




Shields Park Pool Opening

After a two-day delay due to air and water temperatures, the Shields Park Pool opened for the 2021 summer season on Memorial Day.
The pool is under the management of Dave and Chris Boggs and is open to the public for swimming from noon to 5 p.m. seven days a week.
Admission is $4 for ages 6 and up and $2 for ages 3-5. Under the age of 3 are free when accompanied by an adult.
Pool passes are $40 per person. Lap swim is $2 from 11 a.m.-noon and 5-6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Swim lessons are available for age 4 and up for $40. Session 1 is Mon.-Thurs. 6/14-6/24. Session 2 is Mon.-Thurs. 7/12-7/22. Times are 11-11:30 a.m. or 5:15-5:45 p.m. for children and 5:45-6:15 p.m. for adults. Last day to sign up for Session 1 is June 11 and for Session 2 is July 9. 
Private one-on-one lessons are $12 per 20 minutes or $15 for 30 minutes. Dates and times to be arranged with an instructor. 
Toddler/Parent lessons are available for 2-3 year olds. Parents are required to accompany their child in the water. Cost is $40. June 14-24 Mon.-Thurs. 5:45-6:15 p.m.
Lap swim is available from 11 a.m.-noon and 5-6:30 p.m. Mon.-Fri. Cost is $2. 
Fore more information about the pool, call 523-POOL (7665) or visit the Shields Park Pool Facebook page


Seymour Community Center to reopen June 14

After more than a year of being closed, the Seymour Community Center, 107 S. Chestnut St. in downtown Seymour, will reopen to senior citizens beginning Monday, June 14.

Tentative hours are 9 a.m.- 1 p.m. Monday through Friday. These hours will be adjusted as needed based on demand.

On-site activities including bingo, cards and other games will be available. Field trips will resume at a later date.

The parks board voted in April to reopen the center but the opening was delayed because the former community center director did not return to the job.

The parks board approved the creation of a new position, assistant program director, that will oversee the center and assist the parks and recreation department with programming.

Allycen Wheeler was hired for the job and began June 2. 

For more information on community center programming, contact Allycen at 812-569-1359 or email awheeler@seymourin.org



Memorial Day Preparations

Seymour Mayor Matt Nicholson and City Councilman Chad Hubbard joined a group of veterans and volunteers from American Legion Post 89 on the morning of May 27, 2021, at Riverview Cemetery to place flags on the gravestones of deceased veterans ahead of Memorial Day. It's a longstanding tradition that pays respect and honor to the men and women from our community who served and protected our country in the military. 


Public Works Meetings

City Council Meetings

Additional Meetings

City Holidays

Sorry, this website uses features that your browser doesn’t support. Upgrade to a newer version of Firefox, Chrome, Safari, or Edge and you’ll be all set.